School of Music trumpets recognized following National Trumpet Competition

Printer-friendly version

The brass area at the UGA Hugh Hodgson School of Music recently received good news on a few fronts, beginning with the 2016 National Trumpet Competition.

Held at Columbus State University in Columbus, Ga., the event saw two UGA ensembles advance to the semi-finals of their competition: the UGA Trumpet Quintet (Dan Price, Tyler Jones, Victoria Bethel, Yanbin Chen and Deborah Caldwell) and the UGA Trumpet Octet (Michael Meo, Ben Otieno, Lillie Smith, Robert Chambers, Geoff Wood, Tyer Jesko, Emmy Johnston and Joel Garcia).

Two UGA soloists also made it to the semi-finals of the competition, Michael Meo and Tyler Jesko.

In addition to recognition at the competition, one of UGA’s players garnered professional recognition, as well. Geoff Wood won a position with the Air Force Band of the Golden West.

Many of these players will be featured in the upcoming UGA British Brass Band performance, part of the School of Music’s Second Thursday Scholarship Series, at Hodgson Concert Hall in the UGA Performing Arts Center on April 14 at 7:30 p.m.