Symphony Orchestra Concert

Printer-friendly version


Thursday February 4, 2010, 8 p.m., Hodgson Concert Hall, free.

The University of Georgia Symphony Orchestra, Mark Cedel, conductor, will perform with the winners of the Annual Concerto Competition.

The winners are:

Jim Kao, piano

Liz Han, piano

Jong Ah Moon, violin

D. Philip Reesman, violin

Qian Marilyn Li, piano

The program, in brief:

Prokofief - Piano Concerto No 3, first movement
remember the movie, The Competition?
St-Saens - Piano Concerto No 5, first movement
elegance and simplicity
Sibelius - Violin Concerto, second and third movements
colorful, dark and bright, and hauntingly beautiful
Glazunov - Violin Concerto
not very well known but one of the most beautiful in the repertoire
Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1, second and third movements
one of the most popular and exciting

Please join us for an evening of beautiful music.