PhD overview

Printer-friendly version

The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree is divided into four areas including a major concentration, a minor concentration, a research component, and electives in music. The major area of concentration may be chosen from the following fields:

The minor area is chosen from a field outside the Hugh Hodgson School of Music. The degree is research oriented and prepares students for the roles of teaching and research in higher education.

At least two consecutive semesters of full-time status (enrollment for a minimum of 20 hours of consecutive coursework included on the program of study) must be spent in resident study on the campus of University of Georgia. Resident credit used to satisfy requirements for another degree cannot be used to satisfy the requirements for this degree.

Application materials include a representative writing sample, preferably a master's thesis or published articles. Reading knowledge of at least one foreign language is a requirement if the candidate wishes to concentrate in musicology.