Dedication and Naming Ceremony for the Hugh Hodgson School of Music

A ceremony will be held Friday, Sept. 16, to formally name the University of Georgias School of Music in honor of the late Hugh Hodgson, who started the university's music program and whose name became synonymous with music education and appreciation in Georgia.

The 2 p.m. ceremony will be in the Performing Arts Center in Hodgson Hall, which also is named for the Athens native who in 1928 became UGA's first music professor and remained on the faculty for 32 years.

Faculty Chamber Recital

This recital will include Beethoven's Ghost Trio for violin, cello and piano, Nielsen's Quintet for Winds, and Mozart's Quintet for Clarinet and Strings

Performing on the program are the following chamber ensembles:

Michael Heald, violin, David Starkweather, cello, and Liana Embovica-Rivkin, piano.

Angela Jones-Reus, flute, Dwight Manning, oboe, D. Ray McClellan, clarinet, William Davis, bassoon, and Jean Martin-Williams, horn.


Subscribe to Hugh Hodgson School of Music RSS