Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Goldman Citation for British Brass Bandmaster Philip Smith

Submitted by sb70412 on
Philip Smith receives Goldman Citation

On October 14, 2023, Philip Smith was awarded the Edwin Franko Goldman Memorial Citation from the American Bandmasters Association during the performance of the UGA Hugh Hodgson School of Music’s British Brass Band. Smith is the ensemble’s Bandmaster as well as the William F. and Pamela P. Prokasy Professor in the Arts (Trumpet) for the School of Music. The award was presented by composer, conductor and educator James Curnow. Smith joins the ranks of Meredith Wilson, Carl "Doc" Severinsen, and John Williams, who have received this honor, beginning with Captain Harry F. Guggenheim in 1962.

Philip Smith joined the Hugh Hodgson School of Music at the University of Georgia as the William F. and Pamela P. Prokasy Professor in the Arts in August 2014.  In addition to teaching his trumpet studio, he is the Bandmaster of the UGA British Brass Band, member of the faculty Georgia Brass Quintet, and coach of the Bulldog Brass Society.  This new position follows his retirement from the New York Philharmonic after 36 years of service as Principal Trumpet, having joined the New York Philharmonic in October 1978. 


Edwin Franko Goldman (1878-1956), founder and conductor of the Goldman Band of New York City, was also the founder (1929), first President (1930-1932), and second Honorary Life President of The American Bandmasters Association (1933-1956).

Shortly after Goldman’s death, the ABA sought ways to honor the memory of the man who was such an integral part of its beginnings. ABA President Otto J. Kraushaar charged the Special Citation Committee to prepare recommendations whereby the Association could formally recognize certain persons outside the membership of ABA for outstanding services to the band movement in America. The committee’s report was received in 1962. At the same time, the Goldman Memorial Committee was considering a suitable memorial that would recognize the contributions of the ABA founder. Both committees agreed jointly to recommend, for consideration by the ABA Board of Directors and the ABA past presidents, that The Edwin Franko Goldman Memorial Citation be established.

In addition to honoring Goldman’s memory, the purpose of the award is to provide recognition to those outside the membership of The American Bandmasters Association (ABA) who have rendered conspicuous service in the interest of bands and band music in America. The first Citation was presented to Harry Guggenheim, sponsor of the Goldman Band concerts, at a concert on the Mall in the Guggenheim Memorial Band Shell, New York, on July 20, 1963.

At the 1997 ABA Convention President Frank Wickes proposed the project of preparing a book of EFG Memorial Citation recipients and asked Victor Zajec, chairman of the committee, to produce the book. In undertaking the project, Zajec determined that it should include photos and biographical information regarding the recipients and be presented in an attractive printed form. It took him over a year to gather the necessary photos and biographical information on the fifty recipients awarded by 1998. The ABA owes thanks to Victor Zajek for his dedication in seeing the project through to completion, and to Neil and Mark Kjos for their generosity in publishing the book.

The Edwin Franko Goldman Memorial Citation has become one of the most important continuing projects of The American Bandmasters Association. Visit their website at to learn more.


William F. and Pamela P. Prokasy Professor in the Arts, Trumpet

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.